Cricket Society Logo
Book Of The Year Award > 2011> Winner - Slipless In Settle - A Slow Turn Around Northern Cricket
Harry Pearson, Little, Brown Book Group
Purchase on Amazon

Cricket Society Book Of The Year

Book of the Year 2011 Winner Announced

MCC Book Of The Year
Harry Pearson's Slipless In Settle - a Slow Turn Around Northern Cricket, published by Little, Brown Books, is the winner of The Cricket Society and MCC Book of the Year Award 2011. Photographs of Harry receiving his winner's certificate and cheque from keynote speaker David Rayvern Allen and of Chairman of judges Vic Marks are below. A joint Cricket Society and MCC press release about the outcome and related matters is here.

Harry, a columnist for The Guardian and a delighted winner, spoke about the genesis of the book coming from his youthful cricket-watching, and also of his father's contribution which was to define The North as being everything north of a straight line drawn from the mouth of the Mersey to the mouth of the Humber. As Vic Marks had remarked earlier, this made Geoffrey Boycott a southerner!

The winner came through a judging process, described by the distinguished author David Kynaston as "one of the most civilised meetings I can remember', to beat four other admirable, shortlisted books: 'Now I'm 62, The Diary of an Ageing Cricketer' by Stephen Chalke; 'A Last English Summer' by Duncan Hamilton; 'The Cricketer's Progress - Meadowland to Mumbai' by Eric Midwinter; and 'Following On - A Year with English Cricket's Golden Boys' by David Tossell. The Long Room at Lord's was packed with Society and MCC members, the MCC President Christopher Martin-Jenkins, The Cricket Society's President John Barclay, shortlisted authors and publishers, cricket journalists and the panel of judges comprising Stephen Fay, Chris Finch, David Kynaston and John Symons, together with the Award's administrator Nigel Hancock. David Rayvern Allen was the keynote speaker, ranging far and wide through the history of the printed word and the appeal of books. Chair of judges Vic Marks, in a witty and entertaining speech, surveyed the cricket writing scene, the merits of the books and much more besides. An account of the evening will appear in the next edition of the Society's Bulletin.

The standard of books nominated maintained its traditional high standard. The Cricket Society and MCC would like to congratulate all nominated authors both for the quality of their work and also for the enjoyment that they will have given to cricket lovers.

The Cricket Society would also like to thank and commend the MCC for their hosting of the evening in the famous Long Room, which made for a great occasion and a wonderful opening to the 2011 cricket season.

Winner of the Cricket Society And MCC Book of the year award
The winning author, Harry Pearson (on the right) seen here, having just received the 2011 Cricket Society & MCC Book of the Year Award from the evening's keynote speaker, David Rayvern Allen.

Guy Curry
Guy Curry from MCC's Arts & Libraries Committee standing in for Alistair Lack.

Derek Barnard, Chairman of The Cricket Society.

Chairman of judges Vic Marks.

Derek Barnard, Chairman of The Cricket Society and winner Harry Pearson.

Stephen Chalke receives a certificate from David Rayvern Allen
David Rayvern Allen presents Stephen Chalke with a certificate for his shortlisted book.